XXIX U-18 Baseball World Cup 2019

30/08/2019 - 08/09/2019

@wbsc   #U18WorldCup  

Hosted by:   KOR

XXIX U-18 Baseball World Cup 2019 - Official Payoff

Super Round schedule revealed for WBSC U-18 Baseball World Cup 2019 Gijang, Korea


6 teams remain in global competition that started in 2018 with 38 countries and territories

GIJANG, Korea — The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) today revealed the heavily anticipated Super Round schedule for the XXIX WBSC U-18 Baseball World Cup® — one of sport’s most elite youth world championships — following the conclusion of the 30-game Opening Round at Gijang-Hyundai Dream Ballpark.

Having begun in 2018 with the best baseball players from 38 nations and territories competing in the continental qualifiers, the U-18 Baseball World Cup 2019 is now down to six teams representing Australia, Canada, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Korea and four-time defending U-18 World Champions USA.

Group A winner Korea, along with 2nd Place Canada and 3rd Place Australia have advanced to the Super Round.

Group B winner Japan, 2nd Place USA and 3rd Place Chinese Taipei also advance to the Super Round, to battle the Group A winners head-to-head over the next three days.

Super Round Schedule

Thursday, 5 Sept. (All times local KST)

  • AUS v USA at 12:00p
  • TPE v KOR at 12:00p
  • CAN v JPN at 6:00p

Friday, 6 Sept.

  • TPE v AUS at 12:00p
  • USA v CAN at 12:00p
  • JPN v KOR at 6:00p

Saturday, 7 Sept.

  • AUS v JPN at 12:00p
  • USA v KOR at 12:00p
  • TPE v CAN at 6:00p

Super Round Standings

Only results between the Super Round teams (including matches in the Opening Round) count toward the Super Round standings. As a result, Australia (2-0) will enter the Super Round atop the standings, carrying over wins against Canada and Korea in the Opening Round. Japan, Korea, Chinese Taipei will all enter the Super Round with 1-1 records, while Canada enters with an 0-2 record following losses to Australia and Korea.

The top two teams at the conclusion of the Super Round will compete For the Title of World Champion at Dream Ballpark on Sunday, 18:00.

China, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, South Africa and Spain will compete in the 7th-12th Round.

Road to the U-18 Baseball World Cup 2019 Gijang

The road to the WBSC U-18 Baseball World Cup 2019 began with the best young baseball players (15-18 years old) and teams representing 38 countries and territories.

Africa (1): South Africa.

Americas (15): Argentina, Bahamas, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Venezuela and USA.

Asia (7): China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea and Sri Lanka.

Europe (10): Czech Republic, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Netherlands Spain and Ukraine.

Oceania (5): American Samoa, Australia, Guam, New Zealand and Palau.